top of page

My Skin Care Routine!

Skin Care is very important to me! I like to think of my face as a canvas and before I apply my paint ( aka make-up) I have to make sure that my canvas is clean ( aka my skin). Healthy skin is the foundation to having my make-up look flawless. Within the last month I have invested in products that will help me keep my skin clear and healthy. In my last blog post I raved about my Skin Spa System and now I will go into further detail of the products that I am currently using. As I progress in my skin care journey learning that not all products will work for my skin, but the ones that do work, I must invest in them heavily. I used to have one simple routine for both day and night and I would use the same products repeatedly. Later did I realize that my skin has two different conditions when I wake up and when I go to bed. My skin has different needs in the morning then at night. I used to think that having too much skin care products was overwhelming for my skin, but it's actually the opposite. I've noticed that I hate for my skin to be too oily in the morning and I should use an SPF in the morning because I am dealing with the sun a lot more than I realize. I don't feel like I've reached any end on my journey to clear just because I have found a view products that work right now. As I age I know that my skin will too. I need to be prepared for anything!

The first cleanser that I want to talk about is Philosophy's cleanser Purity that I saw on Alyssa Ashley's Youtube page! She is one of my favorite Youtubers at the moment! When I saw this cleanser on her skin care routine video I wanted to try it. So, I went to my local Sephora and got a sample and tried it out on my skin for a week and fell in love! In the past I've been sticking to my Lush all natural products, but like everyone else I got tired of using the same brand all the time. When I bought this product I was in the mood for something different! This cleanser is very refreshing and I use it every morning.This one- step facial cleanser deep cleans my pores and takes away any make-up that could have been left over from the night before. Its creamy consistency is very gentle on my skin and I think that I like using it in morning because I don't want to wake my skin up as harshly as I was before. I want my skin to gradually to wake up to the day.

Along with my morning cleanser I have paired it with a morning moisturizer. I am completely in love with my SPF and Argan oil combo! My mom actually recommended that I get this moisturizer and oil combination when I told her that I was not happy with how oily my skin would get when I use my Ponds in the morning. She quickly showed me this easy solution! This SPF 18 gives my face the hydration that it needs and has Alpine Rose Stem that helps with deep cellular support I this particular brand from Whole Foods beauty section. The Argan oil was purchased at Sephora is a basically a hydration station that I have complete control over. With my Ponds I had no control of how overly hydrating my skin got, now I can regulate my moisture with the built droplets! As a result when I wake up in the morning my skin is lighter, brighter and free shine! SPF is very important protector against the sun harsh UV rays. I did/did not know this before when using my Ponds moisturizer.

My second cleanser that I use at night is Tarte's new Deep Dive Cleansing gel. I adore this cleanser so much! I've been wearing a lot of make-up lately and I wanted a night cleanser that would replace all that my skin would loose from the removal of my make-up. This cleanser is made for make-up removal and any gross stuff that my make-up may leave behind. This cleanser does foam up and I love it! I feel like the foam is all the dirt escaping my skin and is ready to be washed away. I use one pump to preserve product, but if I've had a rough day I'll pump twice just so I can really relax and clean the day away.

I finished cleansing my face at night I sometimes like to exfoliate my skin. The exfoliator that I like to use is the Vitamin C glow microdermabrasion. I like to do this once a week; twice when I notice that I will be getting on my period soon and break outs start to form. I've been using this exfoliator for a long time! I am a moderately big fan of thebodyshop, but I barely use their products since I've been introduced to Lush. (Lush has completely taken over my life!) But one thing that I continue to use no matter what is this exfoliator! It's a natural brighter for the skin. I like to use this product more in the summer when I know that my skin has darkened and my foundation is nit matching my skin tone anymore. I really enjoy using this product because it's very gentle on the skin. It's hard to believe because I am so used to exfoliators being harsh on the skin, but that's not the case here!

Now entering the final stages of my routine, after I've cleansed, exfoliated, masked and toned I have another moisturizer that is my holy grail OG product. My Ponds moisturizer has been with me through thick and thin, but I have noticed that during the morning and throughout the day my face is way to oily for comfort. I thought it was my skin, but by mid afternoon and late evening my skin is fine. I think that at night when I am sleeping my skin needs all the moisture that it can get! So, now I've been using my ponds only at night. When I wake-up my skin is plump and nice and I don't feel dry and all. I think this will be my forever go-to product!

As a bonus to my cleansing products, I would like to share the first cleanser that I've ever used! Fresh soy face cleansing gel is absolutely amazing! Fresh is an amazing range of products for slowly introduce a person into the world of proper skin care products! If all else fails I know that I have a cleansing gel that I can definitely rely on!

My skin care routine would be nothing without the help of masks and toners. In my head I see them as middle men who are key essentials of a huge business deal that's about to go down! My first introduction to the mask world would of course be Lush Cosmetics! I think that my first product from lush was a mask. Ever since then I have not looked back! I've tried many, but not all of Lush's famous masks. But my all time favorite would have to be Mask of Magnaminty! This mask is pure gold! First of all, have you ever spelled this thing!?! If you haven't, you're missing out on a great experience! The smell is minty goodness in one small black container! I am the first to admit that I am not a fan of mint at all unless my breathe truly needs, so for me to love this smell is saying a lot. I think that its all natural ingredients and intense cleansing properties is what truly sold me on the product. I leave this mask on for the instructed time of 20-30 minutes! I think that if I can help it I want to know everything that goes on with my body and sometimes food can be a complete blur because I am purely eating for taste, but for the most part I want to know more about what I put in and on my body! The second mask that I use interchangeably with Mask of Magnaminty is Face mask sheets! This trend for me started this summer! I've seen so many people use it, but I didn't know where they were getting them from! I tried my first one in late June and I can't seem to stop using them! Urban Outffiters is my ultimate plug for this easy to use mask! I feel like I'm not doing a single thing after I place this sheet on my face. The less work for me the better!

Before I start cleansing my face at all I have to remove all of my make-up and these last two products I use regularly. The first product is Sephora's basic Eye shadow remover. I wear eyeshadow every time I wear make-up and its a huge pain when I am cleaning my face and I still have remains of eyeshadow or mascara still on my face. I thought that when I first tried tried this product that It would burn my eyes, because I've said before I am slightly heavy handed sometimes when I use certain products. This remover does not have the alcohol smell that I was expecting. Therefore my eyes did not burn! Over all the remover gets the job done!

Another remover that I use is the Simple cleaning facial wipes. Simple is also a great range that I have grown to trust for their pure ingredients factor in all of their products. I have been using these wipes for taking off my make-up and I feel like it takes off the products I use carefully and doesn't strip my skin of anything that I don't want removed. The wipes are gentle to the touch and don't have too much product on each wipe. I pick these bad boys up at my local CVS all the time. They were kinda expensive from what I remember the last time I bought them. I'm hoping that the price will change, but I doubt it.

Thank you so much for reading about my skin care products! Until next time!

Disclaimer: All images have been taken by me and any products that I have talked about have been purchased with my own money and I have not been paid to review them. I am also not interested in making money off my any products I review.

bottom of page